Prepping for a cleanse

Hoo boy. I’m not sure what I’m about to get myself into, but I’ve decided to try a 3-day cleanse. Let’s just say that since turning 40, my gastrointestinal journey isn’t always good times. And to be clear, I eat well. Sure I occasionally indulge, but every day I eat fruit, veggies, yogurt, nuts and whatever other rabbit food is encouraged. Plus I workout; aerobically 2-3 days a week plus pilates on alternate days. I don’t ever drink soda, I drink enough water every day to flood a small village and I only drink alcohol socially, maybe 2x a week.

When things weren’t working as well as I’d like them to, I thought it might be a gluten intolerance. Not just to be on the gluten-free bandwagon, but because of genetics. On my father’s side there’s Crohn’s disease, on my mother’s is celiac’s and lactose intolerance. It would seem the universe only wants me to eat grass. So the gluten-free lifestyle is easy enough once you figure it out and adjust, but my system still isn’t acting the way a normal, healthy person’s should. At least by my definition.

So later this week I’ll receive my 3-day regimen of the BluePrintCleanse. It’s basically fasting in which you drink six smallish bottles of pressed juices and veggies during a 3-day food fast. There are a few things that worry me: first that they recommend you start and finish with an enema. Also, no coffee.

Plus before you start the cleanse, you somewhat ramp-down your diet in the days before. So today I went to the grocery store and got all kinds of leafy foods and fruit that apparently I’ll live on for the next few days. I also bought herbal and green tea.. at least the green tea has some caffeine so I’ll hopefully avoid complete coffee withdrawals. And I bought more toilet paper.

What I hope to do after the cleanse is slowly introduce pure foods back into my system and try and figure out what I can (and cannot) tolerate. I also plan on using this as a catalyst to kick-start a new workout program since I’m getting a little bored. So I’ll take measurements and record my weight as of today.

If you’re interested in how this goes, follow along!

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

